« Go Back

Online Course: Designing Performance Assessments

Online and asynchronous

Explore how to unpack standards and design performance assessments so that students produce products or performances that demonstrate their knowledge, skills, and ability to apply what they have learned. The course consists of modules that include pre and post understanding checks, video examples, and optional journal prompts. The course should be completed within six weeks of the enrollment date. Course completion time is approximately 20 hours.

Register here.

Sue Brookhart Webinars (recorded)

Recordings of February webinars

Fees for the one-day access to the recorded webinars are $25 per session for individuals. If you have a group that would like to vie the webinar together, the fee is $100 for groups of up to 15 people. After you register, you will receive an email containing the link and password to the webinar.  Active VASCD members receive a 10% discount; use the promo code VASCDMEMBER at checkout

The first webinar, Varying Performance Assessment Tasks to target Higher-Order Thinking, focused on a structure for adjusting questions, tasks, and projects to tap students' thinking skills. Register for this webinar here.   

In the second webinar, Using Rubrics to Guide Assessment and Grading, Sue shared examples and guidelines for creating clear descriptions of student performance across a continuum of quality. Register for this webinar here.   

Partnering with Principals and Teacher Leaders:  Mathematics Leadership Institute

September 29-30, December 10


When Principals and Teacher Leaders work in a coordinated way to improve mathematics instruction, th​e results for students can be significant. This institute is designed to guide the team's thinking about the characteristics of high-quality mathematics instruction, and to provide them with strategies to support mathematics instruction school-wide.

The Institute will answer these questions:

  • What should good mathematics instruction look like?
  • What supports are needed?
  • What is the connection between high quality mathematics instruction and student performance?
  • How can school-based mathematics leaders lead and improve instruction and student learning?

Institute Agenda:

Day 1 (9:30- 4:30):  Explore the mathematics your students should be doing in order to meet more rigorous standards.

Day 2 (9:00- 3:00): Use the SOL process goals (communication, reasoning and proof, representation, connections, and problem solving) as benchmarks for observing mathematics instruction. Learn how to build and support mathematics leadership in your school.

Day 3 (9:30- 3:30): Develop a new leadership vision for the mathematics program in your school based on what students, teachers and leaders should be doing to promote quality math instruction.

When and Where?

September 29-30, December 10 at the Smoot Memorial Library in King George   Area Hotels

Registration fee $490 for the Principal/Teacher Leader team

$290 for Principal only

$780 for a three-person team

Register here

Registration fees for VASCD conferences and events are not refundable. However, they are transferable. Please contact Judy at (434) 466-7466 or vascd1@verizon.net if you are transferring your registration to someone else.