About Us

VASCD is a membership organization, and an affiliate of ASCD. Whether or not you are a member, we hope you will attend our events, visit us online, and connect with us on twitter and facebook.  We are governed by the VASCD Constitution

Our Mission

The Virginia Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development is dedicated to advancing excellence in Teaching, Learning and Leadership. We do this by:

Our Leadership

VASCD is governed by a Board of Directors which includes officers, committee chairs, and an elected representative of each of Virginia's eight Superintendents' regions. The Board employs a full-time Executive Director and an Administrative Coordinator to manage the daily operations of the organization. 

Board of Directors Members

Joe Douglas, President, Colonial Heights City Schools, joe_douglas@colonialhts.net,  804.524.3400 ext. 13

Daniel Smith, Immediate Past President,  daniel.smith2@vbschools.com, 757.648.5649

Pat Griffin, Treasurer,  patvabch@cox.net  757.353.7760

Tom Debolt, Retired, Past President/Parlimentarian, tdebolt44@gmail.com, 703-298-3642 

Anthony Washington, Region 1 Representative, Richmond City Schools,  awashing@richmond.k12.va.us, 804.780.7750

Robin Hoffman, Region 2 Representative, Virginia Beach City Schools,  757.648.4574, rhoffman@vbschools.com 

Heather Tuck, Region 2 Representative, Isle of Wight County Schools,  757.357.0810, htuck@iwcs.k12.va.us

Emma Coombs, Region 3 Representative, Fredericksburg City Schools, ecoombs@cityschools.com, 540.372.1145

Lara Kolb, Region 4 Representative, Warren County Schools, 540.635.5422, lkolb@wcps.k12.va.us

Jennifer Orr, Region 4 Representative, Fairfax County Schools, jenorr@gmail.com, 703.455.7382

Kate Dougherty, Region 5 Representative, Harrisonburg City Schools, kdougherty@harrisonburg.k12.va.us, 540.574.1199

Diane Washenberger, Region 6 Representative/Programs Co-chair, Salem City Schools,  540.389.0130,  dwashenberger@salem.k12.va.us

Kristie Legg, Region 7 Representative, Galax City Schools,  kristielegg@galaxschools.com, 276.236.6159

Amy Griffin, Region 8 Representative, Cumberland County Schools, agriffin@cucps.k12.va.us, 804.492.4212

Daryl Chesley, Governance Chair,  Daryl.Chesley@unos.org  804.782.4504

Juliette Myers, Conference Chair, Frederick County Schools,  myersj@fcpsk12.net, 804.312.4602

Eric Carbaugh, Journal Editor, James Madison University,  carbauem@jmu.edu, 540.220.0262

Ebbie Linaburg, Co-Chair Programs & Services, Shenandoah County Schools, 540.459.6701, eklinaburg@shenandoah.k12.va.us

Melany Stowe, Communications Chair,  melany.stowe@ialr.org, 434.766.6766 

Phyllis Milne, Influence Chair,  drpmilne@verizon.net, 757.871.8110

Melanie Kay-Wyatt, ASCD Liaison, mwyatt@cityschools.com, 540.372.1145